Skip Navigation

FS-3.6 Data Details

FS-3.6 Prevent an increase in the proportion of Campylobacter jejuni isolates from humans that are resistant to erythromycin

About the Data

Description of the data source, numerator, denominator, survey questions, and other relevant details about the national estimate.

National Data Source
National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System for Enteric Bacteria (NARMS); Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Emerging and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases (CDC/NCEZID)
Changed Since the Healthy People 2020 Launch
Baseline (Year)
2.0 (2006-2008)
Target-Setting Method
Maintain the baseline value.
Number of Campylobacter jejuni isolates that are resistant to erythromycin
Number of Campylobacter jejuni isolates tested for resistance to erythromycin
Data Collection Frequency
Comparable Healthy People 2010 Objective
Not applicable
Methodology Notes

The primary objectives of NARMS are to:

  1. Monitor trends in antimicrobial resistance among foodborne bacteria from humans, retail meats, and animals
  2. Disseminate timely information on antimicrobial resistance to promote interventions that reduce resistance among foodborne bacteria
  3. Conduct research to better understand the emergence, persistence, and spread of antimicrobial resistance
  4. Assist the FDA in making decisions related to the approval of safe and effective antimicrobial drugs for animals

In 1997, surveillance for Campylobacter in NARMS began in sites participating in the Foodborne Disease Active Surveillance Network (FoodNet). There were 5 participating sites in 1997. Since 2003 10 FoodNet sites have been participating: California, Colorado, Connecticut, Georgia, Maryland, Minnesota, New York, New Mexico, Oregon, and Tennessee. The 10 FoodNet sites represent about 98 million or 32% of the US population (US Census, 2010) Participating sites forward Participating sites forward a representative sample of Campylobacter isolates received at their public health laboratories to NARMS at CDC for susceptibility testing. Susceptibility testing involves determination of minimum inhibitory for 9 antimicrobial agents: azithromycin, ciprofloxacin, clindamycin, erythromycin, florfenicol, gentamicin, nalidixic acid, telithromycin, and tetracycline.


Additional resources about the objective.

  1. National Antimicrobial Resistance Monitoring System for Enteric Bacteria